Lunchtime Concert – Pianist, Béla Hartmann

Béla Hartmann

Béla Hartmann

A piano recital with one work only – Beethoven’s monumental visions of a simple but stubborn Waltz: the greatest set of Variations ever written!

A winner of the Beethoven Medal, pianist Béla Hartmann has been celebrated for his performances and recordings of Beethoven and Schubert in venues from New York’s Carnegie Hall to London’s South Bank Centre – and now you can hear him play at Dorset County Museum.

A prize-winner of both national and international competitions, the Czech-German pianist Béla Hartmann has established a reputation for lively and individual interpretations of a wide repertoire, ranging from Rameau to Jörg Widmann.  Schubert, Mozart and Beethoven form the core of this extensive range, and he was both prize-winner in the International Schubert Competition, Dortmund (1997), and winner of the Beethoven Medal of the Beethoven Piano Society of Europe (1995). In 2000, he was a semi-finalist at the Leeds International Piano Competition.

In 2005 Béla Hartmann performed the complete piano sonatas and dances by Schubert, in a series of eight recitals at Steinway Hall, London. Other programmes include the complete first book of Bach’s Well Tempered Clavier, works by Dvorak and Smetana and contemporary composers such as Birtwistle, Berio and Petr Eben. Béla Hartmann had also performed widely on fortepianos. He has given recitals at prestigious venues in London, across the UK and Europe, as well as in the U.S.A., where he appeared at the Carnegie Recital Hall, New York. Concerto performances include concertos by Brahms, Prokofiev, Stravinsky, Dvorak, Liszt, Beethoven and Mozart. Béla Hartmann is also a keen musical essayist and has published both in print and online on areas such as performance practice and artistic identity.

Béla Hartmann studied in Munich with Vadim Suchanov and Nicolas Economou and at Trinity College, London, with John Bingham. A scholarship from the Tillett Trust enabled further studies at the Hochschule für Musik, Munich, with Elisso Virssaladse.

For further information contact the Museum on on 01305 756827 or check the website on or follow us on Facebook and Twitter

Related Links:

Lunch Time Concert – Dorchester Piano Quartet

Dorchester Piano QuartetOn Thursday 24th November 2016 at 1.00pm, the Dorchester Piano Quartet will be playing a lunchtime concert at Dorset County Museum.

Jennifer Curiel (violin), Pasha Willis (viola), Sally Flann (cello), Peter Oakes (piano) make up the Dorchester Piano Quartet.

The Dorchester Piano Trio was formed when Russell Dawson (violin) and Peter Oakes (piano) played a duo concert and Sally Flann, who was in the audience, introduced herself as a cellist who would be pleased to play Trios. After around ten years of the Dorchester Piano Trio, Russell stood down and Jenny Curiel (violin) and Pasha Willis (viola) joined Sally and Peter to form the Dorchester Piano Quartet.

As a Trio or Quartet we often include solo sonatas, and the November concert includes the wonderful Sonatina for violin and piano by Dvorak. It combines the Czech composer’s love of folk melody with his feeling for American music (he was Director of the National Conservatory of Music in New York from 1892 to 1895.)

The Fauré Piano Quartet sits historically somewhere between the music of Franck and Ravel: it has all the ‘French’ qualities of clarity, beauty and restraint, while being a wonderful concert piece, full of melody, rich harmony and drama.

Thursday 24th November 2016 at 1.00pm. The performance is FREE although a donation of £3 is encouraged to cover costs.

For further information contact the Museum on on 01305 756827 or check the website on or follow us on Facebook and Twitter


Please note the museum will be temporarily closed from 10am to 12pm on the 24 November 2016. However it will be reopened for afternoon in time for the Dorchester Piano Quartet Lunchtime Concert as published